Education Abroad Advisory Committee


The responsibilities of the Education Abroad Advisory Committee (EAAC) are varied and responsive to the operations and policies of all the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) and UNL-affiliated education abroad programs. Committee members:

  • Provide input for the development and selection of experiences abroad for UNL students. This includes experiences centered on study, internships, service-learning and research.
  • Recommend policy and new/revised procedures to the Education Abroad Office (EAO), Associate Vice Chancellor (AVC/SIO) for International Engagement and Global Strategies/Senior International Officer, and other appropriate authoritative UNL body.
  • Review existing policies and help solidify adherence to current and future education abroad programming policies across all departments and colleges;
  • Review proposals for UNL faculty-led programs (rationale, consistent on-site integration, good practice standards, contact hours, etc.);
  • Evaluate participant feedback of faculty-led programs to ensure adherence to UNL expectations (as defined by set criteria) and make recommendations to the EAAC and AVC/SIO, as necessary;
  • Counsel Director of Education Abroad and AVC/SIO for International Engagement and Strategies on student appeals (on rare occasions);
  • Conduct review and recommend the appropriate and equitable awarding of scholarships administered by the EAO (to be conducted by EAAC sub-committee).

Chair of Committee

The Director of the EAO chairs the EAAC. The Associate Director (AD) chairs meetings when the Director is unavailable. The AVC for International Engagement and Global Strategies/SIO reviews all recommendations set forth by the EAAC and serves as an ex-officio member, attending meetings when possible.


All members are active, full-time UNL faculty and staff reflecting a diversity of units/divisions and areas of expertise (curriculum, advising, business and finance, education abroad program leadership, etc.). The AVC for International Engagement and Global Strategies/SIO appoints the committee members in collaboration with Deans/Chairs/Supervisors. Terms of membership are staggered, ranging in length from one to three years, to ensure continuity and broad participation of faculty and staff across the institution.

Current Members

  • Wendy Duerfeldt Schutte, Assistant Dean of Business and Fiscal Affairs, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts (through Fall 2017)
  • Christina Fielder, Director, Arts and Sciences Advising Center (through Fall 2018)
  • Scott Fuess, Chair of Economics, College of Business (through Spring 2018)
  • Frauke Hachtmann, Professor (Public Relations) and Associate Dean, College of Journalism and Mass Communications (through Fall 2018)
  • Rumiko Handa, Professor (Architecture) and Interim Associate Dean, College of Architecture (through Spring 2019)
  • Priscilla Hayden-Roy, Professor of German, College of Arts and Sciences (through Fall 2019)
  • Mehrdad Neghaban, Professor of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, College of Engineering (through Fall 2017)
  • Paul Springer, Associate Professor (Child, Youth and Family Studies) and Acting Associate Dean, College of Education and Human Sciences (through Spring 2019)